Header Image

Election and Referenda

In the Province of B.C., Local Government Elections are held every three years on the third Saturday of November.

The next scheduled General Local Government Elections are set for Saturday November 15th, 2014.  

Local governments include the Regional District, School District and Municipalities. 

Link to main Election webpages

Link to Candidates

Frequently Asked Questions about Local Government Elections

The incorporation of the District of West Kelowna on December 6th, 2007 resulted in changes to the Letters Patent of the Regional District of Central Okanagan Electoral Area on the Westside of Okanagan Lake.  A new Central Okanagan West Electoral Area was created consisting of the area outside the new municipal boundary.  This Electoral Area has one elected Director on the Regional Board and qualified electors in the Central Okanagan East Electoral Area  also vote for one Director.  Directors from four local government partners are appointed to the Regional Board based on population.  The City of Kelowna appoints six Directors, the District of West Kelowna appoints two Directors and the District of Lake Country and the District of Peachland each appoint one Directors from those people elected to their individual Councils.

Prior to the District of West Kelowna incorporation, qualified voters in the Central Okanagan West Electoral Area Westside cast ballots for three Directors to represent them on the Regional Board, while qualified electors in the Electoral Area Central Okanagan East (formerly Ellison/Joe Rich) voted for one Director to represent their interests. Directors from the City of Kelowna, District of Lake Country and District of Peachland were appointed from among those people elected to their individual Municipal Councils.

You may view the results of the Local Government Election held in the Central Okanagan in 2002, 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2011 on this link to Past Results.

From time to time the Regional Board may determine a Referendumshould be held.  If so, information on that will be posted on the Referendum page

Should a By-election be required, information on that will also be posted here.

The Regional Board may also determine that the Alternative Approval Processbe used to gain the approval of  electors.  Follow this link to an Information Sheet on the Alternative Approval Process.

You may contact the following Election officials for the Regional District of Central Okanagan.

  • Chief Election Officer Mary Jane Drouin @ 250-763-4918 or email elections@cord.bc.ca
  • Deputy Chief Election Officer Deneen McArthur @ 250-763-4918

The Government of B.C. has information and documents available regarding Local Government Elections.

For information on the Local Government Act, click on this link:


Copyright RDCO © 2008-2013 | Designed and Developed by OK Computer SolutionsGet Adobe Reader